Taguig bags NBL-Pilipinas Chairman’s Cup tilt

Taguig  bags NBL-Pilipinas Chairman’s Cup tilt
Taguig Generals is NBL-Pilipinas Champion

Taguig defeated La Union, 94-92, last Saturday at the San Juan gym in La Union to sweep the National Basketball League-Pilipinas (NBL) Chairman’s Cup finals series.

The Generals overcame a 20-point deficit on the road to take their second championship in the regional league for homegrown talents. Taguig captured Game 1 of the best-of-three finals series with a 113-108 victory at the Hagonoy Sports Complex.

Mike Sampurna produced 19 points, five rebounds and three assists on his way to the finals MVP to lead the Generals comeback after they trailed 57-37 early in the third quarter.

Jonats Lontoc provided 14 points and five rebounds, and Fidel Castro had 12 points and hit two triples during the Generals rally that also saw their second stringers stepping up by chipping in 45 bench points.

Noel Santos had 11 points and 12 rebounds, and scored the go-ahead lay-up with 32.8 seconds to bring Taguig’s lead to 93-92 which the ballclub maintained until the final buzzer.

Taguig of head coach Bing Victoria captured its second league crown after taking the 2019 title.

“It’s long overdue,” said Victoria. “Tagal naming pinaghirapan. Sinuklian ng nasa Taas yung paghihirap namin. We don’t have holidays. Tinrabaho talaga namin ito. Christmas, New Year, walang off. Sobrang thankful ako na nagbunga ‘yung pinaghirapan namin.”

La Union dropped Game 2 on its way to settling for a second place finish for the third time in the league.

Erven Silverie had 20 points, and Jap Pambid had 18 points for the PAOwer after he received the MVP trophy before Game 2.

Pambid also took home the Mythical Five along with teammates Silverie and Billy Boado, Dan Natividad of Taguig, and RV Jumaquio of Bulacan. Christian Necio of Bulacan claimed the Sportsmanship Award.