Pampanga wins third straight NBL title

2022 NBL Champ: Pampanga Delta

THE Pampanga Delta captured their third straight National Basketball League-Pilipinas (NBL) title, bagging the 2022 President’s Cup with an 86-83 victory over Bulacan DF Republicans last Sunday at the Bren Z. Guiao Convention Center.

MJ Garcia had 24 points, six rebounds and six assists, as Justine Baltazar had 20 points, 18 rebounds, three steals and four blocks on his way to winning the Finals MVP for the Pampanga governor Dennis Pineda-coached squad.

Pampanga swept the series, 2-0, following its 101-91 win in Game 1 at the Bulacan Capitol Gymnasium.

Mark Tamayo had 10 points and drained back-to-back threes that put the Delta up, 83-80, overhauling a nine-point fourth-quarter deficit, 74-65, in Game 2.

It was another title for the Delta, who previously won the 2020 President’s Cup and 2021 Chairman’s Cup.

Marlon Monte had 17 points and nine rebounds, and Earnest Reyes added 15 points but missed a potential overtime-sending three as Bulacan settled for the runner-up in its second conference in the league.

Prior to tipoff, Bulacan’s Joseph Celso took the Top Performer award of the conference for his consistent play throughout the campaign of the Republicans.